Check out the Mill on:

Blackberry

Walk the Walk

Summary

Blackberry 'Walk the Walk' in their new campaign.

Director Kevin Thomas from Thomas Thomas and AMV collaborate to bring us Blackberry's new 'Walk the Walk' spot. Here we see a seamless sliding montage of moving tableaus, in which the protagonists go on a journey, moving through different settings and realities. This replicates and highlights the new operating system of the Blackberry Z10, which enables you to slide between apps.

"It was a really simple idea with a more complex execution," says The Mill's Flame artist Adam Watson. "The right take, with the right action, with the right positioning. We found every scene and transition affected somewhere else in the spot. This 'domino effect' was the real challenge. Set extensions, speed ramps and even some cheeky arm and leg animation. We used all these techniques to create a smooth and flowing commercial that takes you on a journey of forward motion!"

"Similar to the message in the campaign, the commercial took us on a great journey, starting with a detailed previz stage pre-shoot and ending up with a brilliant free flowing spot," commented Mill producer Cat Scott. "It was great to get stuck into such a fun 2D project with so many beautiful scenes to piece together." As well as being a great 2D project the spot was then expertly graded by Mill colourist Seamus O'Kane. 

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: AMV BBDO
  • Producer: Nick Godden
  • Creative Director: John LaMacchia & Simon Foster
  • Creatives: Zac Ellis & Rich Littler

Production

  • Production Company: Thomas Thomas Films
  • Director: Kevin Thomas
  • Executive Producer: Phillippa Thomas
  • Producer: Trent Simpsom

Editorial

  • Editing Company: The Quarry
  • Editor: Scott Crane

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • VFX Producer: Cat Scott
  • Shoot Supervisor: Hitesh Patel
  • 2D Lead Artists: Adam Watson
  • 2D Artists: Adam Grint
  • Assist: Hugo Saunders, Douglas Haynes
  • Motion Graphics: Shaun Leong-Williams
  • Colourist: Seamus O'Kane
Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
14:50:42

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
9:50:42

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
6:50:42

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
8:50:42

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps