Check out the Mill on:

Blondie Tour Graphics

Behind The Scenes

Summary

Rock and Roll legend Debbie Harry and her band Blondie teamed up with fellow New Wave pioneers, Devo for their 2012 "Whip It to Shreds" tour. The Mill joined forces with director/artist Rob Roth to create the dynamic visuals for Blondie's LED video wall backdrop. The results played on a 40' Martin LC2140 LED video wall for a variety of songs from the band's extensive back catalogue and featured imagery from Blondie's music videos as well as personal archival footage from Chris Stein. Mill NY and LA combined forces to create Roth's concepts, including a tribute to the infamous New York nightclub Mother, a special nod to Debbie's friend Andy Warhol, and a "Death Disco Mirrorball" for the encore. Debbie was kind enough to drop by The Mill NY and talk about the tour and the visuals that provided the dazzling backdrop.

Credits

Production

  • Production Company: The Mill
  • Director: Rob Roth
  • Head of Design Production: Danielle Amaral
    Technical Director: Alan McSeveney
    Producer: Jarrad Vladich, Jess Ambrose

Editorial

  • Editing Company: The Mill
  • Editor: Jessica Ledoux

Design

  • 2D Animation: Tetsuro Mise, Gera Frascaroli, Arthur Hur, Rob Roth, Timothy Haldeen
    3D Animation: Christian Nielsen, Arthur Hur, Andrew Proctor, David Hackett, Simon Brown

project information

Director:

Rob Roth

Production Company:

The Mill

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
19:25:20

London

40-41 Great Marlborough Street, Soho, London, W1F 7JQ

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041
Fax: +44 20 7287 8393

Google maps
14:25:20

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
11:25:20

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
13:25:20

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps