Check out the Mill on:

Super Bowl 2012

Budweiser - Eternal Optimism

Gallery

Summary

Take a Trip Through Time with Budwesier’s “Eternal Optimism”

Anomaly and MJZ's Fredrik Bond, a DGA-nominated and multi-award winning director, take us through the ages in Budweiser's "Eternal Optimism."

We begin in the 1930s with Prohibition and transition seamlessly to the 1940s with the end of World War II.  A sailor's celebratory flip delivers us into the 1950s, where Poodle skirts and Duck Tail hairstyles reign supreme.

The bartender slides a Bud across the bar, and suddenly we find ourselves in the 1960s with bra burners and men walking on the moon. From there, we boogy into the '70s, break-dance through the '80s, crowd surf with the '90s grunge lovers and end up at a hipster DJ party in the current decade.

According to Lead 2D Artist Corey Brown, the most challenging part of the job was designing and building the party scene at the end. "We shot multiple crowd and DJ plates, but all of the projections and lights were created digitally," Brown explains. "We even filmed the New York City street extensions ourselves.  One of them is actually in front of the entrance to The Mill."

Our Telecine Artist Damien Van Der Cruyssen helped evoke the mood of each era with a color palette specific to each decade.

Quite a trip in 60 seconds!

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Anomaly
  • Producer: Jennifer Mastrorilli
  • Creative Director: Mike Byrne
  • Creatives: Dan Kenneally, Adam Kanzer

Production

  • Production Company: MJZ
  • Director: Fredrik Bond
  • Executive Producer: Kate Leahy
  • Producer: Betsy Oliver
  • Director of Photography: Roman Vas’ynov

Editorial

  • Editing Company: Union Editorial
  • Editor: Tim Thornton-Allan
  • Edit Assist: Nellie Phillips

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Head of Production: Sean Costelloe
  • VFX Producer: Zu Al Kadiri
  • Shoot Supervisor: Adrian Hurley
  • 2D Lead Artists: Corey Brown
  • 2D Artists: Albert Cook, Caio Sorrentino
  • Assist: Patrick Mahoney, Randy Krueger
  • Colourist: Damien Van Der Cruyssen
  • Assistant Colourist: DJ Miranda

project information

Director:

Fredrik Bond

Agency:

Anomaly

Production Company:

MJZ

Campaign:

Super Bowl 2012

Also in this campaign

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
12:58:24

London

40-41 Great Marlborough Street, Soho, London, W1F 7JQ

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041
Fax: +44 20 7287 8393

Google maps
7:58:24

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
4:58:24

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
6:58:24

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps