Check out the Mill on:

DIRECTV

Opulence

Summary

In this new spot for DirecTV called “Opulence,” one thing is clear: the convenience and quality of DirecTV appeals to people from all walks of life. Grey NY, Biscuit director Tim Godsall and The Mill NY teamed up for this quirky commercial featuring a Russian billionaire oligarch, his posse of gorgeous females and his prized possession, a miniature giraffe. Yes … a pet, pint-sized giraffe.

That the giraffe sitting on the lavish gold-embellished couch in the similarly bedecked living room of the mansion, appears as natural as a cat perched on a love seat, is where The Mill comes in. "The giraffe was in the script, but we were part of the conversation with the agency about what the giraffe should be doing," says Ben Smith, our Co-Head of 3D and VFX Supervisor on the job. "We suggested movements that were very giraffe-like."

Smith and his team conducted extensive research, gathering a motion gallery of clips and photos. These helped pinpoint muscles, hair, features, common movements and stances natural to giraffes. The information was then simulated in 3D.

"This was a hilarious spot to work on," adds Westley Sarokin, our Lead Flame Artist on "Opulence." "The idea, casting and performance were all fantastic and the mini-giraffe just topped it all off perfectly. From the 2D standpoint, integration touches helped marry the giraffe into the footage. Color balance, contact shadows and edge blending finished it off nicely."

"This was an awesome job," Smith concurs. "It was a great funny script to begin with, there was room for interpretation and the agency was open to letting the idea play out even more. It was the best kind of creative process."

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Grey NY
  • Producer: Tor Myhren
  • Creative Director: Todd Tilford, Luis Romero, Jon Lallus, Bennett McCarroll

Production

  • Production Company: Biscuit Filmworks
  • Director: Tim Godsall
  • Director of Photography: Darko Suvak

Editorial

  • Editing Company: Arcade Edit
  • Editor: Geoff Hounsell

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Jared Yeater
  • 2D Lead Artists: Westley Sarokin
  • 3D Lead Artists: Ben Smith
  • 2D Artists: Albert Cook, Randy McEntee
  • 3D Artists: Joshua Merck, Tom Bardwell, Michael Panov, Emily Merger, Per Bergsten, Ajit Menon, Chris Hill
  • Colourist: Fergus McCall
  • Assistant Colourists: DJ Miranda and Josh Bohoskey
Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
8:45:19

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
3:45:19

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
0:45:19

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
2:45:19

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps