Check out the Mill on:

Super Bowl 2014

Geico - Fox Sports - Hump Day Pregame

Summary

Nobody Keeps Caleb on the Sideline!

He's back! Geico's camel Caleb happily agreed to work with The Mill again and Fox director Matthew Waddell for Fox Sports pre-game show for the Super Bowl. His triumphant shout of "guess what day it is" has a whole new meaning on game day.

The Mill's 3D & 2D teams got to work to help bring Caleb's personality off the sidelines and hijinks ensue as he and Terry Bradshaw exchange words over their amount of Super Bowl rings, camel humps, and hair (or lack thereof)!

Things go slightly awry for Caleb when he investigates the matchup of classic stadium snacks instead of the players…

The Mill's VFX supervisor and 2D lead Randy McEntee talks about his third time working with Geico's camel 'Caleb' "We're happy to see Caleb back! And this time he presented us with a few challenges on the 2D side. We had to photograph Caleb on a blue screen before we knew what the exact background would be. After an exhaustive search for the perfect stadium background, it turns out there isn't any footage on a football field that is framed for an 8 foot tall camel. Who knew?

"We held off finishing until the Super Bowl teams were determined, and then rushed to insert the Seahawks and Broncos logos into the backgrounds. A lively and fun project with a madcap dash at the end for sure."

Credits

Production

  • Production Company: FOX
  • Director: Matthew Waddell
  • Executive Producer: Laura Miller
  • EVP & Head of Marketing: Robert Gottlieb
    SVP: Bill Battin

    Sound Design: Chris Fina

Editorial

  • Editing Company: FOX
  • Editor: Curtis Roen

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • VFX Producer: Colin Blaney
  • Shoot Supervisor: Randy McEntee, Jeff Robins, Tara Demarco
  • 2D Lead Artists: Randy McEntee
  • 3D Lead Artists: Jeff Lopez
  • 2D Artists: Gavin Camp, Michael Sarabia
  • 3D Artists: Billy Dongyoon Jang, Justin Burton, Ross Scroble, Sam Crees, Xuan Seifert
  • Matte Painting: Heather Abels Raymond
  • Colourist: Fergus McCall
  • VFX Assets & Plates: Tia Perkins, Adam Carboni, Matt Clegg

project information

Director:

Matthew Waddell

Production Company:

FOX

Campaign:

Super Bowl 2014

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
21:36:39

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
16:36:39

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
13:36:39

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
15:36:39

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps