Check out the Mill on:

Honda

RGB

Summary

If you think way back to your old science lessons at school, you may remember using a prism to separate white sunlight in a rainbow of colours. Anyone who paid enough attention back then may also remember that white light is made up from three distinct colours. Red, Green and Blue.

The CR-Z Hybrid car from Honda has three distinct driving modes, each symbolised graphically as the dashboard lights switch between the colours of each mode. Red for "Sport", Green for "Econ" and Blue for "Normal".

Under the visionary direction of Frank Budgen, the 60 second TV and cinema ad simply titled 'RGB', portrays the driver or passenger's point of view as he or she drives through a modern city, in this case Barcelona.

Our lead flame Barnsley explains: "For each of three driving modes, the colour palette of the image changes very graphically, as the tone/drone of the sound switches between different pitches, one for each mode. The final shot sees the CR-Z car forming from the three split/fractured channels to show a white car driving off into the light."

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Wieden + Kennedy
  • Producer: Danielle Stewart, Lucy Russell
  • Creative Director: Sam Heath, Chris Groom
  • Creatives: Tony Davidson, Kim Papworth
  • Account Director: Paulo Salomao

Production

  • Production Company: Gorgeous
  • Director: Frank Budgen
  • Producer: Rupert Smythe
  • Director of Photography: Daniel Landin

Editorial

  • Editing Company: The Quarry
  • Editor: Paul Watts

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • VFX Producer: Gemma Smith
  • 2D Lead Artists: Barnsley
  • Assist: Paul Downes, Pete Rypstra
  • Motion Graphics: Dominic Burgess
  • Colourist: Adam Scott
Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
19:10:24

London

40-41 Great Marlborough Street, Soho, London, W1F 7JQ

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041
Fax: +44 20 7287 8393

Google maps
14:10:24

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
11:10:24

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
13:10:24

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps