Check out the Mill on:

Hyundai

More Than Metal

Summary

Innocean and director Frank Budgen show us how Hyundai's new IX35 model is made of 'more than metal'

The first in a series of three films, this latest spot from Hyundai features hundreds of household objects flying through the air which then come together to form the new IX35 model. The spot aims to show that Hyundai's cars are inspired by drivers and the personal items that are important to them.

The ad was mainly shot in live action using high speed phantom camera plates which were then layered up and composited in flame, apart from the end shot which is a combination of CGI and live action motion control composited in Nuke. Lead 3D artist Francois Roisin comments, "We used a classic motion control rig to shoot the car end shot. With this setup we shot various plates of the car, set and a selection of objects as reference for the CGI. We modelled over 200 objects in CGI to form the car shape at the end.

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Innocean Worldwide Europe GMBH
  • Producer: Katy Cappi
  • Creative Director: Dominic Sweeney & John Crozier

Production

  • Production Company: Gorgeous
  • Director: Frank Budgen
  • Producer: Alicia Richards
  • Director of Photography: Simon Richards
  • Production Manager: Nicola Dempsey

Editorial

  • Editing Company: The Quarry
  • Editor: Scott Crane
  • Edit Assist: Ed Hanbury

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • VFX Producer: Reece Ewing
  • Shoot Supervisor: Francois Roisin
  • 2D Lead Artists: Zoe Casey- Hayes
  • 3D Lead Artists: Francois Roisin
  • 2D Artists: Zissis Papatzikis, Alex Candlish, Nic Seresin, Adam Watson
  • 3D Artists: Giacomo Caveletti Hugo Jackson
  • Colourist: James Bamford

project information

Director:

Frank Budgen

Agency:

Innocean Worldwide Europe GMBH

Production Company:

Gorgeous

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
12:39:29

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
7:39:29

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
4:39:29

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
6:39:29

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps