Check out the Mill on:

Super Bowl 2013

Oreo - Whisper Fight

Summary

When whispering isn’t enough

Wieden & Kennedy Portland, along with the brilliant director Tom Kuntz and The Mill LA, debate an Oreo's anatomy.

MJZ shot inside an airport hangar in Ontario and The Mill LA team pieced together all of the elements to create a quiet two story library. Reconstruction of the brick wall was necessary so that the reading room felt authentic, requiring additional particles, brick deconstruction and dust.

On top of the architectural work, many of the actors were shot against a green screen and The Mill composited several of these plates together to give each shot a feeling of depth and intense action. The 3D team created glass shattering for the broken stained glass window, while the 2D team brought in elements of smoke and debris to really emphasize the chaos of the moment.

Particle effects, green screen removal, split screen composites and fire simulation all add to the timeless Oreo debate: Cream or cookie?

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Wieden & Kennedy Portland
  • Producer: Colleen Wellman
  • Creative Director: Craig Allen, Jason Bagley
  • Creatives: Christine Cignac
  • Account Director: Ken Smith

Production

  • Production Company: MJZ
  • Director: Tom Kuntz
  • Executive Producer: Scott Howard
  • Producer: Emily Skinner
  • Director of Photography: Toby Irwin

Editorial

  • Editing Company: Mackenzie Cutler, Inc.
  • Editor: Gavin Cutler

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Sue Troyan
  • VFX Producer: Christina Thompson
  • Shoot Supervisor: Sarah Eim
  • Creative Director: Phil Crowe
  • 2D Lead Artists: Ant Walsham, Sarah Eim, Trent Shumway
  • 2D Artists: Emma White, Ben Smith
  • 3D Artists: Michael Panov, Brett Agelillis
  • Assist: Patrick Munoz
  • Art Department: Scott Wilson, Kevin Flores
  • Production Coordinator: Benjamin Sposato
Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
19:53:44

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
14:53:44

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
11:53:44

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
13:53:44

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps