Check out the Mill on:

Pedigree

Doggie Dentures

Summary

Rocky Morton directed this commercial for Pedigree that is bound to raise a smile thanks to some CG effects from our team in LA. TBWA Chiat Day and MJZ have joined ranks to produce the ad which stars four loveable mutts who get to show off beautiful sets of human like teeth from 'Doggie Dentures'.

Pedigree has been running a print campaign based on this idea for some time and wanted the imagery of the smiling dogs translated into a commercial. A total of 25 dogs were filmed and after a grueling casting process, four were chosen for a mouth makeover - Isabel, Ruby, Blue and Lexi.

Our CG crew lead by Steve Beck, created teeth and replacement bottom jaws for the dogs that were then tracked and composited into the footage.

Becky Porter, a lead compositor on the job, comments, "Most CG elements were hand tracked because of the amount of movement due to the dogs' panting. Our largest challenge with the rendering of the dentures was achieving the pearlescent qualities of teeth. After that it was about restoring the dogs' lip hair over the teeth with a mixture of keying and tracked patches of hair. Even during the really fiddly work we were smiling, you can't help but smile when you look at these dogs."

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: TBWA Chiat Day
  • Producer: Chris Spencer
  • Creative Director: Chris Adams, Margaret Keene
  • Creatives: Eric Terchila, Denise Zurilgen

Production

  • Production Company: MJZ
  • Director: Rocky Morton
  • Producer: Helen Hollien
  • Director of Photography: Kris Kachikis

Editorial

  • Editing Company: Whitehouse
  • Editor: Dan Oberle

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Sue Troyan
  • VFX Producer: Arielle Davis
  • Shoot Supervisor: Robert Sethi
  • 2D Lead Artists: Billy Higgins
  • 3D Lead Artists: Steve Beck
  • 2D Artists: Becky Porter
  • 3D Artists: John Leonti
Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
17:57:12

London

40-41 Great Marlborough Street, Soho, London, W1F 7JQ

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041
Fax: +44 20 7287 8393

Google maps
12:57:12

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
9:57:12

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
11:57:12

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps