Check out the Mill on:

Sigur Ros

Fjogur Piano

Gallery

Summary

A Short Story, an Art Film Experiment or just another Music Video from Sigur Ros

Innovative Icelandic phenomenon Sigur Rós brings a provocative concept to the making of music videos. The band's new album, Valtari, features the work of over 12 filmmakers and artists, each with an original concept and style, named "The Valtari Mystery Film Experiment".  Starring Shia LaBeouf, and directed by Alma Har'el, VFX by The Mill L.A.

Close collaboration between director and The Mill turned an overwhelming 80 shots into a magic sequence of wind, water and electricity. "Alma [Har'el] didn't want the effects to overpower the performers, but rather enhance the mood of the film," share The Mill 2D Lead Artists Sarah Eim & Tara Demarco. "It was refreshing to work on such a beautiful art project."

Har'el and The Mill take the viewer on an unforgettable journey scored by haunting Sigur Rós melodies. It is the short story of a man and a woman locked in a never ending cycle of addiction and desire slowly losing their ability to separate themselves from each other.

Other artists and directors in the experiment include: Nick Abrahams, Arni & Kinski, Ramin Bahrani, Melika Bass, Inga & Lilja Birgisdottir, Sarah Hopper, Clare Langan, Henry Jun Wah Lee, Ryan McGinley, John Cameron Mitchell and Dash Shaw.

Credits

Production

  • Production Company: TOOL
  • Record Company: FAT CAT RECORDS
  • Director: Alma Har'el
  • Executive Producer: Brian Latt, Oliver Fuselier, Dustin Callif
  • Producer: Christopher Leggett
  • Director of Photography: Shawn Kim
  • Director of Photography: Shawn Kim
    Choreographer: Ryan Heffington
    Costume Designer: Paula Tabalipa
    Costume Assistant: Ursula Wydrzynski
    Unit Production Manager: Jesse Schiller
    Art Director: Grace Alie

Editorial

  • Editor: Joe Lindquist & Alma Har’el

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Sue Troyan
  • VFX Producer: Arielle Davis
  • 2D Lead Artists: Sarah Eim & Tara Demarco
  • 2D Artists: Tim Bird, Margolit Steiner, Nick Tayler, Robert Murdock, Shane Zinkhon, Steve Cokonis
  • Visual Effects Coordinator: Radiance Salem
    Visual Effects Designer: Justin Sucara

project information

Director:

Alma Har'el

Production Company:

TOOL

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
23:44:20

London

40-41 Great Marlborough Street, Soho, London, W1F 7JQ

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041
Fax: +44 20 7287 8393

Google maps
18:44:20

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
15:44:20

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
17:44:20

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps