Check out the Mill on:

Super Bowl 2012

Budweiser - Return of the King

Gallery

Summary

The King of Beers Returns!

Beer. Hot Wings. The Budweiser Clydesdales.  These are all things that come to mind when one thinks about the modern-day Super Bowl.  But sadly, during the days of Prohibition, the Dust Bowl was the only "bowl" folks had on their minds.

Budweiser's "Return of the King," via Anomaly, hails the triumphant return of the Budweiser Clydesdales to a town that has been deprived of alcohol for 13 years. The Super Bowl commercial is directed by RSA's Jake Scott, who delivers the stylish storytelling for which he's known that has earned him Cannes Grand Prixs, Emmy nominations and heaps of other accolades.  Like an oasis in the desert, the Budweiser delivery truck comes rumbling in to a Western town full of thirsty, appreciative people.

"Return of the King was really enjoyable to work on. Anomaly's team was very collaborative, and the spot was beautifully shot so the work we did just enhanced what was already there," says Lead 2D Artist Naomi Anderlini. "The objective was to make the spot feel like it was shot in the 1920's, so we removed anything from the scenes that looked like modern technology. We enhanced the '20s look by adding a tram and some tram cables to another shot, made some minor color tweaks and added some 1920's signage."

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Anomaly
  • Producer: Winslow Dennis
  • Creative Director: Mike Byrne

Production

  • Production Company: RSA Blackdog Films
  • Director: Jake Scott
  • Executive Producer: Tracie Norfleet
  • Producer: David Mitchell
  • Director of Photography: Chris Soos

Editorial

  • Editing Company: Peepshow Post
  • Editor: Andrea MacArthur
  • Edit Assist: Healy Snow

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Jo Arghiris
  • VFX Producer: Zu Al Kadiri
  • Shoot Supervisor: Eliza Pelham Randall
  • 2D Lead Artists: Naomi Anderlini
  • 2D Artists: Albert Cook, Matt Wilmshurst, Randy McEntee
  • Assist: Patrick Mahoney

project information

Director:

Jake Scott

Agency:

Anomaly

Production Company:

RSA Blackdog Films

Campaign:

Super Bowl 2012

Also in this campaign

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
17:51:14

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
12:51:14

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
9:51:14

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
11:51:14

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps