Check out the Mill on:

Ciclope Festival 2011

Titles and branding

Summary

Introducing 'The Dark Arts', The Mill's title sequence for the Ciclope International Advertising Crafts Festival 2012! The festival, which celebrates the advertising film production industry, is currently taking place in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and runs until November 16th.

Taking the simple brief:  'The Advertising Machine', our Creative Director for Design - Carl Addy set about creating this black but humorous take on our industry. We meet the 'high priest' of the advertising world, mixing and blending his clever potions in order to sell products to the unsuspecting consumer world.  As the Ciclope team wanted something different and distinctive, we brought in the heavy hitting talent of duo mcbess and Simon to help illustrate our story, creating tattooed dancers, potions, backgrounds and even kittens!

The ritual cards were created by Carl himself, and all the above was then brought to life by our senior 2D animation team in After FX.

Luke Colson, Head of Mill Studio, who exec produced the sequence said: "We began production with just 4 weeks to spare and had a team of 8 people working late nights to get this to the level it needed to be introduced at such a high end and prestigious platform.  We are all delighted with the results."

Cíclope is the only international festival focused on the advertising film production industry and honours the work of those who gives their artistic talent to the production of advertising films, putting special attention on the craft.

Click here to learn more about the festival: http://ciclopefestival.com/en/

* Featured in Design Week's blog - click here to view *

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: The Mill
  • Creative Director: Carl Addy

Production

  • Production Company: The Mill
  • Director: Carl Addy
  • Executive Producer: Luke Colson

Editorial

  • Editing Company: The Mill
  • Editor: Ivo Da Sousa

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • Executive Producer: Luke Colson
  • Creative Director: Carl Addy
  • 2D Lead Artists: Ivo Sousa, Kwok Fung Lam
  • Illustrators: mcbess and Simon, Carl Addy
    2D Animation: Tom Wandsbrough-Jones, Oliver Harris
    Typography: Adam Brandon
    AFX: Sam Taylor
Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
21:15:21

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
16:15:21

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
13:15:21

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
15:15:21

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps