Check out the Mill on:

D&AD

2014 Title Sequence

Summary

The Mill+ team create yet another show stopping title sequence in their long-time collaboration with D&AD

Each year Mill+ are tasked with creating the opening title sequence, title slates and idents for the prestigious D&AD awards. With an open brief, the project is always a fantastic way for the team to flex their creative muscles and develop something truly inspiring. 

This year's idea is based on Factory Fifteen's initial concept of a 'Design Carousel' and Planning Unit's idea for this year's show. The Mill+ designers and animators set out to develop machines that represent the creative vastness, inspiration and process of design development. Every machine in the sequence unveils a piece of information to the user, whilst revealing their working and also being beautiful to look at. The piece is simple, yet also hypnotic with the images enhanced by intrinsic sound effects from Angell Sounds.
 
Director Nils Kloth comments, "Every year the D&AD titles are a fantastic opportunity for us to come up with a custom brief for an idea and style that we really want to create. The guys at D&AD are greatly supportive and it's a real pleasure to be working with them. They trust us and we have all the freedom to create something amazing.
 
We opted to complete the whole sequence in 3D, enabling us to have full control over the workflow and creation of each machine. We built and animated everything in Cinema 4D, utilising physics simulation and manual animation methods to achieve the working of all these machines. To achieve the best and most realistic look we decided to use vRay for all lighting and texturing. It took days and weeks to render everything but it was worth it!"

Credits

Production

  • Design & Animation Studio: Mill+
    Executive Producer: Luke Colson
    Producer: Oana Anghel
    Design Director: Nils Kloth, Douglas Bowden
    Senior Art Director: Douglas Bowden
    3D Lead: Oliver Harris
    3D Artist: Matt Whitewood
    2D Artist: Nils Kloth

Editorial

  • Editor: Daniel Budin
  • Edit Assist: Hugo Vaughan-Hughes

project information

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
17:47:15

London

40-41 Great Marlborough Street, Soho, London, W1F 7JQ

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041
Fax: +44 20 7287 8393

Google maps
12:47:15

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
9:47:15

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
11:47:15

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps