Check out the Mill on:

Jordan

Airborne

Gallery

Summary

Jordan ‘Airborne’ is a Slam Dunk

Do you believe Dwayne Wade can fly?  In the latest spot from director Ringan Ledwidge and W+K New York, with VFX by The Mill NY, the Miami Heat star gets some serious air in his Jordans!

Since a large majority of The Mill's assignment was to fill the empty stadium, the team got as much in-camera footage as possible for the crowd plates to preserve the electricity that only a live crowd can generate. The Mill NY's Lead 2D Artist Iwan Zwarts explains, "All of the foreground action had to be matted to build in the crowd plates behind the players, and we also made sure that we could track all three cameras that were rolling that day."

The team also wanted to utilize as much of the real, studio-built ramp footage in the finished spot as they could. When the brief called for a change of shape, our 3D artists Emily Meger and Naotaka Minimi built and textured a CG model of the ramp so the actual footage could be projected on to it.

"Working with the accomplished people on this project was a great experience," says Zwarts. "From Ringan to the agency's team, everybody was on the same page creatively. It's not everyday that one gets to work on a spot that doesn't actually feel like work!"

Credits

Agency

  • Agency: Wieden + Kennedy New York
  • Producer: Dan Blaney
  • Creative Director: ECDs: Ian Reichenthal, Scott Vitrone
  • Creatives: CDs: Brandon Mugar, Andy Ferguson

Production

  • Production Company: Smuggler
  • Director: Ringan Ledwidge
  • Director of Photography: Matthew Libatique
  • Sound Mix: Sound Lounge
    Sound Mixer: Philip Loeb

Editorial

  • Editing Company: Work Post Production
  • Editor: Rich Orrick

Post-Production / VFX

  • Post-Production / VFX Company: The Mill
  • VFX Producer: Charlotte Arnold
  • Shoot Supervisor: Iwan Zwarts
  • 2D Lead Artists: Iwan Zwarts
  • 3D Lead Artists: Emily Meger
  • 2D Artists: Robert Bruce
  • 3D Artists: Naotaka Minami, Justin Burton, Navdeep Singh, James Williams, Hassan Taimur (Crowd Effects/Massive)
  • Assist: Jade Kim, Melissa Graff, Dusty Diller
  • Colourist: Fergus McCall
  • Telecine assistants: Josh Bohosky, DJ Miranda

project information

Director:

Ringan Ledwidge

Agency:

Wieden + Kennedy New York

Production Company:

Smuggler

Email to a friend Separate multiple emails with a comma
13:11:59

London

11-14 Windmill Street,
London, W1T 2JG

Tel: +44 20 7287 4041

Google maps
8:11:59

New York

451 Broadway, 4th/5th/6th Floor,
New York, NY, 10013

Tel: +1 212 337 3210
Fax: +1 646 432 8958

Google maps
5:11:59

Los Angeles

3233 S. La Cienega Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA, 90016

Tel: +1 310 566 3111
Fax: +1 310 566 3144

Google maps
7:11:59

Chicago

54 West Hubbard Street, Suite 502,
Chicago, IL, 60654

Tel: +1 312 605 8900
Fax: +1 312 822 0882

Google maps